Working in Yukon


Working in Yukon

Learn about working in Yukon:A view of downtown Whitehorse from across the river.

Yukon is located in the northwestern corner of Canada. It borders the U.S. state of Alaska to the west, Canada's Northwest Territories to the east, and the province of British Columbia to the south.

Yukon’s name comes from the Gwich’in aboriginal name Yu-kun-ah for “great river.”

Yukon’s population in 2015 is about 37,000 people. The size of the territory is 482,443 square kilometers (186,272 square miles). About 27,000 people live in the capital, Whitehorse.

The territory’s indigenous people are the Yukon First Nations. There are 14 First Nations in Yukon and each has its own unique culture and traditions. For more information, visit Yukon First Nation Tourism Adventures.

Yukon is well known for the Klondike Gold Rush of 1896 to 1906. As many as 100,000 people came to the territory from all over the world, hoping to find gold.

Yukon is also known for its mountains, lakes, forests and wildlife.

Yukon has long, cold winters. Throughout the year, temperatures can range from minus 60 to 36 degrees Celsius.

The more you learn about Yukon, the faster you will be able to adapt to living and working here. For more information, visit Yukon Quick Facts. You can also download Yukon at a Glance


The Immigration unit has moved to the Department of Economic Development. The unit's new location is:

Department of Economic Development
303 Alexander Street, 1st floor
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867-667-5131  Fax: 867-667-8555
Toll free (In Yukon): 1-800-661-0408, local 5131

Yukon government staff directory >>>