Schools K - 12

School councils

School Councils provide a way for Yukon residents to get involved in the education of children.

School Councils have three to seven members. Members are elected to two-year terms and receive honoraria for attending regular meetings.

Most Yukon schools are run by the Public Schools Branch of Department of Education. École Émilie Tremblay and Académie Parhélie, the French First language schools, are run by a school board, the Commission scolaire francophone du Yukon, (CSFY).

The Department of Education funds School Councils and CSFY.

On this page, you will learn:

School Council by-elections

Voting will take place to fill vacant seats on the following School Councils:

  • St. Elias Community School
  • Eliza Van Bibber School Council

Polling Day will be Monday, October 22, 2018, from 3 p.m. to 8 p.m. Voting will take place at the respective schools.

For more information, please visit the Elections Yukon website, call 867-667-8683 or email

About school councilsGroup of students in a classroom working together on a project.

Responsibilities of councils

Tips for school council members


What School Councils do

The duties and powers of School Councils are described in sections of the Education Act , primarily Section 113. They include:

School Councils

Department of Education
1000 Lewes Boulevard
Box 2703
Whitehorse, Yukon
Canada Y1A 2C6

Phone: 867- 667-8226
Toll free (In Yukon): 1-800-661-0408, local 8226
Fax: 867- 393-6339

Yukon government directory >>>